Make-your-own Comic Strip

Make-your-own Comic Strip

Young and old can create comic strips at Make Beliefs Comix. In addition to English, your characters can think and talk in Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, German and Latin. The instructions are easy; tools limited. It’s fun. You can see my thought process deciding my topic for my next class, Media Imaging and Sound Design, through Quinnipiac University.



The “sister site,” Bill’z Treasure Chest, provides more activities for recording personal histories, diaries, and stories.

I found Make Beliefs Comix through the Google supported Literacy Project site which I found through CAST, the Center for Applied Special Technology. I learned about CAST from a LinkedIn discussion group sponsored by the National Science Foundation. In the discussion on software for K16 grades, Tobias McElheny from the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics recommended CAST.

CAST is a nonprofit research and development organization that works to expand learning opportunities for all individuals, especially those with disabilities, through Universal Design for Learning.”

CAST.org provides the lesson plan; Scholastic.com the comic strip

CAST provides items of interest to students, teachers, parents, and guardians to help in the different ways of learning. This brings me back to my topic of Make-your-own Comic Strip. In the Strategy Tutor Teacher Website you can use their tools to make lesson plans from on line content. A data base contains a variety of lesson plans including a make-your-own Charlotte’s Web comic strip.

I had to try it. Following the lesson plan I would have summarized the story of “Charlotte’s Web.” It’s been a few years since I read the story so I added my Kansas farm roots and closed with The Waltons. Enjoy.

This entry was posted in How To and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

